Herzlichen Glückwunsch / Congratulations



In 2000, Jankowski was nominated for the Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst (National Gallery Prize for Young Art)
alongside Dirk Skreber, Katharina Grosse, and Olafur Eliasson. Following the nomination, the four artists each contributed work to an exhibition at the Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin’s contemporary art museum, at the end of which the winner of the prize would be announced. For his part, Jankowski worked with four professional speechwriters. He told each one of them that a different one of the four artists had won the prize, briefed them with the press materials organized by the prize committee, and asked them to write and present a speech in honor of the respective artist. The four speeches, which Jankowski recorded on video and screened simultaneously in the exhibition, emphasise the artists’ different approaches but share a common argument – each of the four artists is, in his or her own way, the only conceivable prizewinner.


herzlichen glückwunsch_publikum





Four-channel video installation (4 DVDs), each ca. 10:00 min, PAL, 4:3, color, sound, German with subtitles (English), edition of 3, I